What does E2 mean in baseball?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

What does E2 mean in baseball?

What Is The Definition Of E2 Error In Baseball? 1. This is how the official scorer records an error that is committed by the catcher. The number refers to the catcher’s position number. Examples Of How E2 Is Used In Commentary.

What is E3 in baseball?

If the batter reaches base because the first baseman dropped the throw from the shortstop, the basepath is drawn and E3 (an error committed by the first baseman) is written below.

Do you have to touch the ball for an error?

It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder’s legs or a fly ball falls untouched and, in the scorer’s judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the Official Scorer shall charge such fielder with an error.

Do errors count as at bats?

An error does not count as a hit but still counts as an at bat for the batter unless, in the scorer’s judgment, the batter would have reached first base safely but one or more of the additional bases reached was the result of the fielder’s mistake. There is a curious loophole in the rules on errors for catchers.

What does F stand for in baseball?

Heading Explanation
G/F Number of Ground Ball outs divided by the Fly Ball outs
OBA Opposition Batting Average
WHIP Walks and Hits per Inning Pitched
GB:FB Ground Ball to Fly Ball Ratio

What does E stand for in baseball?

The E on a baseball scoreboard stands for Errors and is the number of errors awarded to the defense during the duration of the game. This number calculates all the defensive errors per team and gives spectators a general idea of how well a team is doing defensively.

What does E3 Please mean?

The Electronic Entertainment Expo (E3) is an annual trade fair for the computer and video games industry presented by the Entertainment Software Association (ESA). E3. Electronic Entertainment Expo.

Is a dropped third strike an error?

A dropped third strike is initially scored as a strikeout and as an error on the catcher, or “K-E2”. If the catcher were to throw the runner out at first base, then the play would be scored as a strikeout and the catcher getting the out at first base, or “K 2-3”.

Is a dropped infield fly an error?

“The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball,” said the other.

Categories: Contributing