Are cocktails legal in Illinois?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

Are cocktails legal in Illinois?

Illinois’ bars and restaurants can continue to sell to-go cocktails until 2024 after Gov. J.B. Pritzker on Wednesday afternoon signed into a law a three-year extension of a measure adopted last year to give the hospitality industry a new way to make money after COVID-19 halted indoor service.

Can I serve alcohol at a private party?

Technically, yes. A host can hire a licensed caterer to provide food and alcohol at a private party. The percentage of food sales, and whether the caterer can even sell alcohol, depends upon the location of the party.

Can an 18 year old bartend in Illinois?

A: Both answers are subject to local jurisdictional ordinances, but, at a minimum, the seller/server must be at least 18 years of age. In Chicago, for example, you must be 21 to sell/serve alcohol and those under 21 years of age must be accompanied by a parent or guardian to enter a bar/tavern.

Can I serve free alcohol at my business Illinois?

Serving Complimentary Alcohol: Moreover, under Illinois law, it is impermissible to give away alcoholic beverages for commercial purposes or to advertise or promote that alcohol will be provided for “free” or “complimentary” in connection with commercial activity.

Can you order alcohol to go in Illinois?

Illinois lawmakers on Sunday passed a bill to continue allowing bars and restaurants to serve cocktails to go, a measure that served as a lifeline to struggling businesses during the COVID-19 pandemic. The General Assembly first passed the initiative during the 2020 legislative session, and Gov. J.B.

What time can you buy alcohol in Illinois on Sunday?

Saturday off-premise liquor sale hours: 7am-10pm. Sunday on-premise liquor sale hours: 9am-2am. Sunday off-premise liquor sale hours: 7am-10pm.

Can minors drink with parents in Illinois?

Under Illinois law, parents can allow their underage child to drink alcohol for religious purposes or under the parent’s direct supervision and approval in the privacy of their home. Under the language of the statute, parents need only supervise the actual drinking of the alcohol and not the after-effects.

Is happy hour legal in Illinois?

Happy hour drink specials had been banned under Illinois law since 1989 but can immediately begin with Rauner’s signature of the measure. A bar cannot offer unlimited drinks for a fixed price, except for private functions such as parties.

What are the alcohol laws in Illinois?

No one may sell or serve alcohol to any person under the age of 21. No one may purchase or provide alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. Violation of the above provisions is a Class A misdemeanor and the sentence shall include, but shall not be limited to a fine of not less than $500.

What time can you buy liquor in Illinois on Sunday?

How many local liquor ordinances are there in Illinois?

UPDATED JULY 15, 2015 . Select a county or municipality name below to view liquor-related information from over 1,000 of the approximately 1,200 local entities in the state of Illinois. Some responding local jurisdictions submitted more than one completed survey, so they may be listed more than once.

What is the Liquor Control Act in Illinois?

However, the Illinois Liquor Control Act (235 ILCS 5/6-16, 235 ILCS 5/6-16.2, and ILCS 5/4-1) allows local jurisdictional control over this matter as well as the age allowed to enter a bar/tavern (restaurants that serve alcohol are exempt from this law).

Is it legal to order alcohol online in Illinois?

Grocery stores  Note: It’s now legal in Illinois to order alcohol online!  ➡ Head over to Drizlyfor same-day delivery of beer, wine, and/or liquor delivered to your door! Grocery/Liquor Store (Off-Premise) Sale Hours: Laws in Neighboring States: Indiana’s Laws Iowa’s Laws Sunday restrictions: None

How old do you have to be to sell alcohol in Illinois?

A minor is not allowed to sell/serve alcoholic liquor. Illinois Liquor Control Commission Rules & Regulations (Section 100.10) define a “minor” as a person under 18 years of age (per an Illinois Attorney General opinion in 1973).

Categories: Blog