Who won the Brownlow Medal in 1997?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

Who won the Brownlow Medal in 1997?

Since the award’s inception in 1924, the Bulldogs have won a total of 10 Brownlow Medals. In 1997, Bulldogs forward Chris Grant polled 27 Brownlow votes, one more than winner Robert Harvey (St Kilda), but was ineligible to win due to a one-match suspension for striking Hawthorn’s Nick Holland.

Did James Hird win a Brownlow?

Hird jointly won the Brownlow Medal with Michael Voss in 1996, the award for the fairest and best player in the Australian Football League.

Who has won the most brownlows in AFL?

  • Charles “Chas” Brownlow, namesake of the award.
  • Crown Casino, current home of the Brownlow Medal ceremony.
  • Haydn Bunton Sr., the first of four players to win three Brownlow Medals. He also holds the record for the highest career average of votes per game.

How many players won 2 Brownlow medals?

He is one of only four players to have won a Brownlow at two clubs, the others being Greg Williams at Sydney and Carlton, Ian Stewart at St Kilda (where he won two) and Richmond, and Chris Judd at West Coast and Carlton.

Who has won a Brownlow Medal?

Brownlow Medallists: 1924 – Present

Year Player Votes
2017 Dustin Martin 36
2016 Patrick Dangerfield 35
2015 Nat Fyfe 31
2014 Matt Priddis 26

Who won the Brownlow Medal in 2020?

Lachie Neale
The 2020 Brownlow Medal was the 93rd year the award was presented to the player adjudged the best and fairest player during the Australian Football League (AFL) home-and-away season. Lachie Neale of the Brisbane Lions was the winner, with 31 votes.

How many Anzac Day medals has James Hird won?

James Hird of Essendon has won the most Anzac Medals, with three, being awarded the medal in 2000, 2003, and 2004. For Collingwood, the most Anzac Medals is two, a record shared by Sav Rocca for his wins in 1995 and 1998, Scott Pendlebury in 2010 and 2011, and Dane Swan in 2012 and 2014.

Who is the youngest Brownlow medalist?

legend Dick Reynolds
– The youngest Brownlow medallist is Essendon legend Dick Reynolds, in 1934, 19 years, 90 days.

Is there a Brownlow Medal this year?

WHEN IS THE 2021 BROWNLOW MEDAL? Though last year, it was moved to the preceding Sunday, with that set to continue in 2021. The AFL has confirmed the grand final will be played in Perth on September 25, with the Brownlow Medal ceremony is to be held on Sunday, September 19.

Who wore the number 14 before Joel Selwood?

Who had the No. 14 guernsey at Geelong before Joel Selwood? Paul Koulouriotis.

Categories: Contributing