Who are the 10 Gurus in order?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

Who are the 10 Gurus in order?

This is a list of the ten Sikh gurus in order:

  • Guru Nanak (1469-1539)
  • Guru Angad (1504-1552)
  • Guru Amar Das (1479-1574)
  • Guru Ram Das (1534-1581)
  • Guru Arjan (1563-1606)
  • Guru Hargobind (1595-1644)
  • Guru Har Rai (1630-1661)
  • Guru Har Krishan (1656-1664)

What do the 10 Gurus represent?

However, they also learn from the Rahit Maryada and the examples of the Ten Gurus : Guru Nanak – taught Sikhs about oneness of God and oneness of humanity. Guru Angad – taught Sikhs about being physically healthy. Guru Amar Das – taught about the importance of action to support sexual equality.

Who was the 10 th Guru?

Gobind Singh
The 10th and last Guru, Gobind Singh, before his death (1708) declared the end of the succession of personal Gurus.

Why do Sikhs tell stories about the Gurus?

In Sikhism there are loads of famous stories about the ten gurus and their teachings. They help us to find out more about what it means to be a good Sikh.

What caste are Sikh gurus?

All the ten Sikh Gurus were from various Khatri clans: Guru Nanak was a Bedi, Guru Angad was a Trehan, Guru Amar Das was a Bhalla, and the remainder were Sodhis. The early followers of Guru Nanak were Khatris but later a large number of Jats joined the faith.

Who is the 1st Guru of Sikh?

Guru Nanak
A portrait of Guru Nanak (1469–1539), the first Sikh Guru.

What was Guru Nanak’s first religion?

Guru Nanak was born into a Hindu family in 1469. When he was 30 he mysteriously disappeared for 3 days. When he reappeared, he began to preach the Sikh faith. He spent the rest of his life teaching, writing and travelling around the world to discuss religion with Muslims and Hindus.

Who was the 10th Guru of the Sikhs?

Gobind Singh, the 10th guru, created the order of Khalsa. He sacrificed his father, mother, sons, and his own life to protect Sikhs from forced conversion to Islam. He completed the Granth, bestowing upon it the title of everlasting guru.

Are there pictures of gurus in gurdwaras?

Although there might be pictures of the Gurus in gurdwaras and homes, there are no pictures to represent God. The only symbols Sikhs use are the Khanda and Ik Onkar. Guru Nanak’s father tried to teach him to help with his business.

Who was Guru Angad Dev and what did he do?

Guru Angad Dev compiled the writings of Nanak Dev and introduced the Gurmukhi script. He was the son of Pheru Mall ji and Mata Daya Kaur (Sabhrai) ji. He was married to Mata Khivi ji and had two sons, Dasu and Datu, and two daughters, Amro and Anokhi.

What did Guru Nanak teach about human rights?

Guru Nanak began teaching the importance of the equality of all people, regardless of their caste, religion or gender. He taught that everyone is created by God’s will and therefore we must all be treated equally and with respect. Today, Sikhs follow this teaching. They welcome all beings into the gurdwara and offer food from the langar.

Categories: Popular lifehacks