Can I legally build my own house in South Carolina?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

Can I legally build my own house in South Carolina?

State law requires residential construction to be done by licensed residential builders and specialty contractors. You must supervise the construction yourself. You may build or improve a one-family or two-family residence. The building must be for your own use and occupancy.

Do I need a building permit for a shed in South Carolina?

A shed or storage building (pre-built or built on site) that is larger than 200 square feet requires a building permit.

Do you need a permit to build a fence in SC?

Note: All fences still require application submittal and planning approval prior to construction. Note: Any wall that is back-filled against, no matter how high, must be permitted. Note: Sidewalks and driveways installation must be approved prior to installation.

How much is a business license in Aiken South Carolina?

City of Aiken Business License Rates

Income: 0 – $2000 Income: All Over $2000
Rate Class Minimum Fee Rate per thousand or fraction thereof
1 $25 $0.80
2 $30 $0.95
3 $35 $1.10

Do you need a building permit if you do the work yourself?

If you are doing the work yourself, it is your responsibility to apply for the permit. Be aware that your building department may require that some types of work be done only by licensed professionals. Some regions may require permits for almost every type of work, even building a landscape fence.

How much would it cost to build a house in South Carolina?

HomeAdvisor.com puts the average cost of building a new construction home in South Carolina at roughly $350,000, which would put a 2,000 square foot home at $175 per square foot.

What is the average cost to build a house in South Carolina?

How far from property line can you build a fence in SC?

three (3) feet to any property line adjacent to a street right-of-way or adjacent property which may not be used for building or development (e.g. swamps, wetlands).

How much is a building permit in South Carolina?

PERMIT APPLICATION FEE A non-refundable permit application of $40.00 is required for all building and trade permits.

Does Aiken County require a business license?

Aiken County does not require a business license in the unincorporated area of the county. However, if you are going to be conducting business in any of the cities, you need to check with them for business licenses.

Categories: Users' questions