What are the 23 districts in West Bengal?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

What are the 23 districts in West Bengal?

Districts of West Bengal

  • Alipurduar.
  • Bankura.
  • Birbhum.
  • Cooch Behar.
  • Dakshin Dinajpur (South Dinajpur)
  • Darjeeling.
  • Hooghly.
  • Howrah.

Why is West Bengal called East?

A hotbed of the Indian Independence movement through the early 20th century, Bengal was partitioned along religious lines. The western part went to India (and was named West Bengal) while the eastern part joined Pakistan as a province called East Bengal (later renamed East Pakistan, giving rise to Bangladesh in 1971).

What is the real name of Kolkata?

Kolkata, Bengali Kalikata, formerly Calcutta, city, capital of West Bengal state, and former capital (1772–1911) of British India. It is one of India’s largest cities and one of its major ports.

Which district is big in West Bengal?

The largest city in West Bengal is Kolkata. Total area of West Bengal is 88,752 km² including 83,626.43 km² rural area and 5,125.57 km² urban area. West Bengal has a population of 9,12,76,115 peoples….List of Districts in West Bengal.

# 1
District Bankura
Area (km²) 6,882
Population (2011) 35,96,674

Which district do I live in Kolkata?

Kolkata district (formerly known as Calcutta district) is a district in the Indian state of West Bengal, headquartered in Kolkata….Kolkata district.

Kolkata district Calcutta district
Population (2011)
• Total 4,496,694
• Density 24,000/km2 (63,000/sq mi)

Is Bangladesh richer than West Bengal?

According to the data from the International Monetary Fund (IMF), Bangladesh’s per capita GDP was $1,905 in 2019, against West Bengal’s $1,566 in 2018-19 (FY19) — economically the most developed state in eastern India. Bangladesh’s lead over other states in eastern India is even bigger.

Categories: Popular lifehacks