What are quad maps?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

What are quad maps?

A “quadrangle” is a topographic map produced by the United States Geological Survey (USGS) covering the United States. The maps are usually named after local physiographic features. A 7.5 minute quadrangle map covers an area of 49 to 70 square miles (130 to 180 km2).

What does a 15 minute quad map represent?

15-minute maps The standard map series covering Alaska is the 15-minute, 1:63,360-scale (1 inch = 1 mile) quadrangle series, usually having dimensions of 15 minutes in latitude and from 20 to 36 minutes of longitude. The area portrayed on each sheet ranges from 207 to 280 square miles, depending on the latitude.

How do you describe a topographic map?

Topographic maps are a detailed record of a land area, giving geographic positions and elevations for both natural and man-made features. They show the shape of the land the mountains, valleys, and plains by means of brown contour lines (lines of equal elevation above sea level).

What does the circled section of the map represent?

Widely spaced lines represent a gentle slope. The circled area on the map to the right indicates the steepest slope on the map where the contours are closest together. The distance between each vertical line is representative of the horizontal distance between each of the elevations in reality on the ground.)

What do colors mean on a topographic map?

Topographic maps use green to denote vegetation such as woods, while blue is used to denote water features like lakes, swamps, rivers, and drainage. Red is used for man-made features, like main roads or political boundaries, and purple for new changes or updates on the map that weren’t previously represented.

What does a steep slope look like on a topographic map?

Closely-spaced contour lines indicate a steep slope, because the elevation changes quickly in a small area. Contour lines that seem to touch indicate a very steep rise, like a cliff or canyon wall.

Why is this called a 7.5 minute topographic map?

A topographic map shows the elevation data for a certain part of the earth, in addition to other physical and man-made features. 7.5 minute maps are so called because each covers 7.5 minutes of latitude and 7.5 minutes of longitude on the earth’s surface.

What is the actual distance represented by 1 inch on this map?

On the map 1 inch is equal to 0.4 miles. Example 3a – The map distance between two points is 6 inches.

What is a statement scale?

1. Statement of Scale: The scale of a map may be indicated in the. form of a written statement. For example, if on a map a written statement appears stating 1 cm represents 10 km, it means that on that map a distance of 1 cm is representing 10 km of the corresponding ground distance.

What are the Quad Cities in the US?

The Quad Cities is a region of five cities in the U.S. states of Iowa and Illinois: Davenport and Bettendorf in southeastern Iowa, and Rock Island, Moline, and East Moline in northwestern Illinois.

What is the population of the Quad Cities?

The Quad Cities Metropolitan Area consists of three counties: Scott County in Iowa, and Rock Island County and Henry County in Illinois. The Quad City metro population is 382,268.

What is the mark of the Quad Cities?

The TaxSlayer Center (formerly known as The MARK of the Quad Cities and the iWireless Center) is a 12,000-seat multi-purpose arena located in Moline, Illinois. The arena has garnered numerous architectural industry awards since its construction.

What is the Quad City area?

The Quad Cities Metropolitan Area , more formally known as the Davenport–Moline–Rock Island Metropolitan Statistical Area, is the metropolitan area associated with the Quad Cities in the U.S. states of Iowa and Illinois. The area consists of the cities of Davenport and Bettendorf in Iowa and Rock Island,…

Categories: Trending