What are the 7 LEED categories?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

What are the 7 LEED categories?

The LEED® rating system has seven areas of concentration; Sustainable Sites, Water Efficiency, Energy and Atmosphere, Materials and Resources, Indoor Environmental Quality, Innovation in Design Process and Regional Priority. Projects obtain credits in these areas to achieve certification.

What are the 8 LEED categories?

LEED Credits Categories

  • Sustainable sites. Any new construction will have an ecological impact.
  • Water Efficiency.
  • Indoor Environmental Quality.
  • Material and Resources.
  • Energy and Atmosphere.
  • Location and Transportation.
  • Innovation.
  • Regional Priority.

Which LEED category is for materials and resources?

The Materials and Resources (MR) category is about minimizing the energy and environmental impacts associated with the extraction, processing, transport, maintenance, and disposal of building materials. A full life cycle approach is taken with materials, vs a one-time consideration.

What are the 9 LEED rating systems?

Nine Categories of LEED Credits:

  • Location & Transportation.
  • Sustainable Sites.
  • Water Efficiency.
  • Energy & Atmosphere.
  • Material & Resources.
  • Indoor Environmental Quality.
  • Innovation.
  • Regional Priority.

What are LEED Materials?

Overview of LEED Certified Building Materials LEED promotes a whole-building approach to sustainability by recognizing performance in five key areas of human and environmental health: sustainable site development, water savings, energy efficiency, materials selection and indoor environmental quality.

What is sustainable sites for LEED?

The Sustainable Sites (SS) credit category of LEED v4 was created to ensure that a project’s natural environment would be valued and respected throughout every step of the building process, from planning to construction to management.

What can you do with a LEED certification?

Attaining LEED certification demonstrates environmentally responsible building practices. This can be a big boost for the image of both a building’s owner and for a contractor who designs and/or constructs LEED-certified buildings. A record of LEED-certified projects can help a builder become recognized as a leader in the construction industry.

What do the various LEED certifications mean?

An LEED (Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design) certification is an internationally recognized Tk that indicates a building or community was designed and built to be environmentally friendly. Buildings that bear an LEED certification mens they are energy and resource-efficient. What the Certification Means

What are the procedures for LEED certification?

The process of becoming LEED certified has 4 main steps: 1. Register on the site, submit your project , and pay the registration fee; 2. Apply for the certification by submitting the completed application and paying the fee for certification review; 3. Review your LEED application by the Green

What are the LEED certification levels?

The four LEED certification level designations are Platinum, Gold, Silver and Certified. Regardless of the certification level achieved, all projects must meet mandated prerequisites and then choose from 110 available credit points to reach the desired certification level.

Categories: Helpful tips