What are the 2 classes of mine countermeasure vessels?

Published by Charlie Davidson on

What are the 2 classes of mine countermeasure vessels?

The Operation Kipion Mine Countermeasures squadron is made up of two Hunt-class mine countermeasures vessels (HMS Brocklesby and HMS Chiddingfold), and two Sandown-class minehunters (HMS Penzance and HMS Shoreham).

What is the hull of a mine countermeasure vessel made of?

glass-reinforced plastic hulls
The small but extremely effective Mine Counter Measure Vessels (MCMVs) boast glass-reinforced plastic hulls to conceal their presence from the threat of sea-mines. Their sonars are capable of detecting and classifying an object the size of a football up to 1,000 metres.

How does a mine countermeasures vessel work?

Mine countermeasures systems The vehicle uses high-frequency, high-resolution sonar, low light level television (LLLTV), cable cutters, and explosive charges to detect and dispose of mines, while remaining tethered to the vessel by a 1,070 metres (3,510 ft) cable and under control of the vessel.

How many Minehunters does the UK have?

Of 13 Hunt Class vessels built, eight remain active with the Royal Navy. Berkely (M40) was transferred to the Greek Navy and renamed Callisto. HMS Cottesmore (M32) was decommissioned in September 2005.

How do Minehunters work?

A minehunter uses an imaging sonar to detect and classify targets and then sends out divers or remotely operated vehicles to inspect and neutralise the threat, often using small charges that are detonated remotely.

What does a mine warfare specialist do?

As a Mine Warfare Specialist you’ll lead the way for our fleet, clearing any mines in its path. You’ll make sure our missions are possible whatever they’re for, from delivering essential humanitarian aid, to embarking on conflict operations.

Does the US Navy still use minesweepers?

Today, the only active minesweeper class is the Avenger class, which is a part of the MCM ship designation. These ships were built with significantly lower acoustic and magnetic signatures to avoid detonating sea mines.

What submarines does the UK have?

The service operates seven fleet submarines (SSNs), of the Trafalgar and Astute classes (with three further Astute-class boats currently under construction), and four ballistic missile submarines (SSBN), of the Vanguard class. All of these submarines are nuclear powered.

How many minesweepers does the Navy have?

11 MCMs
There remain 11 MCMs in current service to the fleet. These ships use sonar and video systems, cable cutters and a mine detonating device that can be released and detonated by remote control. They are also capable of conventional sweeping measures. The ships are of fiberglass sheathed, wooden hull construction.

What is mine hunting?

Employment of sensor and neutralization systems, whether air, surface, or subsurface, to locate and dispose of individual mines. Minehunting is conducted to eliminate mines in a known field when sweeping is not feasible or desirable, or to verify the presence or absence of mines in a given area.

Where are mine warfare specialists based?

Your Royal Navy career begins with 10 weeks’ basic training at HMS Raleigh, a shore base in Torpoint, Cornwall. The discipline, teamwork, organisational, firefighting and weapon handling skills you learn here will stay with you right through your career.

What is mine warfare?

Mine warfare refers to the use of different types of explosive devices: Land mine, a weight-triggered explosive device intended to maim or kill people or to disable or destroy vehicles. Minelaying, deployment of explosive mines at sea.

Categories: Users' questions